Hancu Monastery

Hancu Monastery was built in 1678 by the Great High Steward Mihail Hancu after one of his daughters expressed a desire for the religious life. She became a nun and took the name of Parascheva. The convent was known by the name of Viadica until the 17th century. 

In the middle of the 18th century, when the Tatars invaded, the nuns left the convent. After the Russian army arrived in Bessarabia under the command of Field Marshall Rumeantev in 1770-1772, the Hancu family successors asked the monk Varlaam from the Varzaresti Monastery to take care of the abandoned convent. Varlaam, together with a group of monks who came with him, took care of the household and repaired the cells, and in time the monastery became a living place for the monks. 

In 1817, a wooden church was built at the monastery. It had a wooden iconostasis decorated with flowers gilded with gold. The walls inside of the church were fashioned with many beautiful icons, eight of which were painted on planks of wood and gilded with gold. Hancu was the first monastic settlement of Bessarabia, where community life was introduced in approximately 1820-1822. 

Both the inner life of the convent and its community household developed significantly during the supervision of the Bulgarian Abbot Dosoftei. Where the old wooden church stood, he built a new stone church honoring Saint Pious Parascheva. In 1841, he built another church dedicated to the Holy Virgin Dormition. Cells for the monks were also constructed. Water was brought into the monastery, and the administration of the monastery was improved. At the end of the 19th century, the monastery was known under the name of Hancul-Parascheva. 

In 1944, the monastery and all its holdings were nationalized. In 1965, the monastery was closed. The monks were forced to leave. In 1978, the monastery was transferred to the Institute of Medicine and it became a sanatorium for people suffering from tuberculosis and a spa for students and employees. Saint Pious Parascheva summer church was later turned into a club. 

In 1990, Hancu Monastery was re-established as a place for monks, but in 1992 the community was abolished. However, in the spring of 1992, Hancu became a convent for nuns. Later that year, in September 1992, reconstruction of the monastery began. In 1993, the repairs to the Holy Virgin Dormition winter church, built in 1841, were finished. In 1998 the interior of the church was repainted. Saint Pious Parascheva summer church, built in 1835, was repaired in 1996. Three old buildings constructed in 1841 remain untouched on the monastery’s territory. 

Today the monastery is home to a vibrant community of nuns. 

Location:

Bursuc village, Nisporeni

Accessibility:

The monastery is open every day from 6:00 to 20:00, including week-ends. Access for disables is not provided.

Contact:

Tel: (+373 264) 93-008 / (+373 264) 92-849

GSM: +373 (0) 691-40-149

Entry Fee:

No

Activities:

Religious service

Festivals or Events:

Monastery’s hram is on October 28

This web-site was developed with the support of the National Inbound Tourism Association’s members
ceed-logo-big

This website was developed with the support from the USAID CEED II project.
Its contents does not necessarily reflect the views of the USAID or United States Government.
Website Legal Disclaimer.